An Unlearning Process

Not my picture, but here is Bologna and its gorgeous terra cotta buildings!

I was contemplating titling this post “A Learning Process,” but then I realized what I actually wanted to write about is what I’m unlearning. (And the drama queen in me wants to say that I’m unlearning basically everything.)

I believe have made it pretty clear in conversations with many of you and on this blog that I am not the biggest fan of raising support, but if I have not, there you go. However, God is revealing Himself to me in new and amazing ways in which He is teaching me to unlearn so many things I thought I had figured out about this process, myself, and Him. I guess that is what sanctification is all about, right?

They say you can’t teach an old dog new tricks, but the Lord is the best at doing just that. Through this roller coaster of spiritual highs and emotional lows, God has been breaking my stubbornness down like only He can do. Here are some of the things I’m unlearning:

  • How to put expectations on God, and essentially put Him in a box. This is probably the biggest one. Sometimes I think my finite mind can wrap itself around an infinite God, and I am quickly realizing that  His thoughts are not my thoughts, nor are His ways my ways. (Isaiah 55:8-9)
  • How to do things out of my own strength. College was something I was pretty good at doing in my own strength, for the most part, minus the occasional child throwing something at my head, causing me to almost have a breakdown in the middle of teaching a 1st grade class (Yep, that actually happened last semester in my final internship). It was 4 more years of doing stuff I had been doing for 13+ years. However, as I transition into the dreaded “real world,” I am finding it is NOT like college at all, and I am actually very weak. Thankfully, my Father is strong and His power is made perfect in my weakness. (2 Corinthians 12:9-10)
  • How to please people. Kick to the stomach! How awful for someone like me, who will go to the ends of the earth to avoid someone thinking ill of me, to find out that there will always be those who disagree with me no matter what I do or say. Life does go on, and you learn to just suck it up and endure and thank the Lord you are accepted by Him because of Christ. (John 1:12, Romans 15:7) Not only that, but you learn to refocus your aim to pleasing Him rather than the world. (Galatians 1:10, 1 Thessalonians 2:4, Isaiah 2:22)

Friends and supporters, please continue to pray for me, that I would continually seek Christ through this time left in America, regardless of circumstances. Please pray also for the Bologna STINT team, that we would be unified. Pray also for safety considering all the earthquakes that have been happening in the Emilia-Romagna region (the region in Italy where Bologna is located), and finally, for God to be preparing the hearts of Italians who we will be sharing the Gospel with in the coming months. Thank you so much for all of your encouraging words and so graciously partnering with me to reach the world for Jesus.

Also, please comment and share how I can be praying for you too!

(Shameless shout out to Mom, Dad, Nan, and Lara for commenting on my last post. :])

Be blessed!

10 thoughts on “An Unlearning Process

  1. Pingback: A shameless plug for my daughter. « New Equus – A New Creation

  2. I’m so excited for you and your upcoming trip. My family just returned home from 2.5 months near Pescara, Italy working with YWAM. It was lovely, but an incredible challenge for us. The Italians are inCREDibly warm and chatty, so the opportunities to make friends is pretty good. Will definitely be praying for unity for your team, as division is one of the biggest spiritual strongholds over the nation right now. A friend who’s been there 3 years explained this to us when we arrived, and we also saw it play out in a few different scenarios. Enjoy your prep and get ready for a bunch of yummy gelato!

    • Wow, what a blessing to have someone who has been there visit my blog! Thanks so much for reading and commenting and for your prayers. What was the ministry in Pescara like? What kind of ministry work were you all doing there? I agree about the division. 2 years ago I went to Salerno, Italy for 6 weeks to do the same type of work and it was very eye-opening. People need to hear the hope of the Gospel there, as they have no hope in their unstable government or churches. It is so sad, but God is moving regardless!

    • Love you too, friend. Support-raising should actually just be called: Sanctification 101, a 3 month-long class where you are reduced to nothing so God can show His glory through you. Haha, in a good way of course.

Leave a Reply

