As of late…

My sweet roommates and best friends, Lara and Lauren.

A lot of people have asked me what I am doing with the 3 months I have left before I go to Italy. Currently, I am finishing up my last class ever at USF. I may have fooled a few people with all my graduation pictures on Facebook and the fact that I walked at the commencement ceremony and met my hero, Judy Genshaft ( the president of USF). However, I am not technically a graduate yet. This is round 2 for this class (it’s true, I failed the first time, but that’s the best way to learn a lesson, right?), Classroom Management, so it has been a breeze, and I only have 3 weeks left until I can officially be a college graduate!

Along with my class, I have been raising financial support to get to and live in Bologna. Honesty time: it has been no small feat. In fact, I am sure it is the most difficult thing I have ever done in my short life. I would describe it as a roller coaster of emotions that has opened up my eyes to a ton of sin, fear, and doubt in my heart. I do not consider myself to be the boldest or most courageous individual, so approaching people with even a great opportunity as this to give their resources toward is challenging.

However, my weakness and anxiety has brought me to the feet of Jesus time and time again. It is here that I see how faithful and good He is, and how His promises to never forsake or abandon me are unwavering. All I can do is trust Him and continue with this daily in faith, making it my aim to glorify Him. His grace is sufficient for my weakness. (2 Corinthians 12:7-10) So, I guess you could call these growing pains; unpleasant, yet sanctifying and strengthening me, and I am grateful for any experience in which Christ becomes more beautiful to me.

These days I have also been doing a lot with my amazing church here in Tampa, Aletheia. I have been very slowly learning some Greek and studying apologetics every Wednesday morning from some really smart people in my church family. Along with that I’ve had opportunities to share the Gospel with students at USF and people in the community around here as well as attend a wonderful ladies’ Bible study which just so happens to meet at my apartment (convenient!). The community at Aletheia is so great: intentional, honest, encouraging, burden-bearing. I will be extremely sad to leave my family there in September.

I’ll continue to live in Tampa until the end of July when my apartment lease is up, and after that I’ll be moving back to good ol’ Palm Harbor to hang out with family and friends and soak up the last month in la Florida! I am so grateful for all of you guys who having been praying, supporting, and encouraging me through this process.

Please keep praying for me and Italy, and please leave a comment to let me know how I can be praying for you as well! 

4 thoughts on “As of late…

  1. God doesn’t leave things undone. He will vide you with what you need top finish your fund raising efforts and is truly preparing you for what lies ahead once you get to Italy. Remember I am here for you and love you very much. Pops

  2. with you guidance, dear granddaughter, I think i may have finally relearned the skill of commenting on word press blogs. It has eluded me for some time, but with this comment, perhaps I’m gack on track. Loved seeing you last evening and watch your funding-raising ratchet up a notch. Glad you enjoyed home-made pizza and salad.
    LUNMW,
    Nan

  3. You got this lady!! I’m glad part of your final days in Florida is holdin some flowers at my wedding! 🙂 I can’t wait to stalk you in Italia!

Leave a Reply

